Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

RefWorks: Converting from Other Bibliographic Management Programs

Converting from Endnote

Note: RefWorks has a feature that will allow you to upload your EndNote versions 8 through 10 library directly into RefWorks. All other versions of EndNote will require you to export the records from EndNote and import them into RefWorks (see instructions at the end of this section).

EndNote 8, 9 or 10 users only:

  1. Go into RefWorks and from the References menu select Import EndNote V8+ Database.
  2. Browse for and select your EndNote library (.enl). *Note: Currently there is a 25 MB import limit on the size your EndNote library.
  3. Specify a folder to import your records into (optional)
  4. Click on Import at the bottom of the Import window. The progress in importing is measured by * for each reference imported. RefWorks will notify you when the import is complete.
  5. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.

To export records from EndNote 7 or lower:

Note: When importing large amounts of references, it is recommended to import no more than 2500 records (or 3MB of files) at a single time. This will ensure a successful import.

  1. From EndNote, under the Edit menu select Output Styles
  2. From the list of output styles select RefMan (RIS) Export.
    *Note: If you do not see this format, open the Style Manager and check the RefMan (RIS) Export format. Close the Style Manager and repeat steps 1 and 2.
  3. Select the references you want to export.
  4. Under the Reference menu select Show Selected (or Show All if you wish to export the entire database).
  5. Under the File menu select Export.
  6. A dialog box appears for you to select the location where you want to save the file. Type a file name and select a location for importing into RefWorks. Select Text as your Save As type and click Save.
  7. Go into RefWorks and from the References menu select Import.
  8. Select Desktop Biblio. Mgt. Software as your Import Filter and EndNote (Ref Man RIS Format) as your Database. Make sure you select the appropriate Mac or Windows version. Browse for and select the file you just created from EndNote.
  9. Click on Import at the bottom of the Import window. The progress in importing is measured by * for each reference imported. RefWorks will notify you when the import is complete. View the Imported References.
  10. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.

Converting from Reference Manager

When importing large amounts of references from Reference Manager, it is recommended to import no more than 2500 records (or 3MB of files) at a single time. This will ensure a successful import.

  1. From Reference Manager, select the references you want to export.
  2. Under the References menu select Export.
  3. Either use the default file name or create a new file for exporting references. Select the RIS format and the appropriate References Option.
  4. Click Export.
  5. Go into RefWorks and from the References menu select Import.
  6. Select Desktop Biblio. Mgt. Software as your Import Filter and Reference Manager (RIS Format) as your Database. Browse for and select the file you just created from Reference Manager.
  7. Click on Import at the bottom of the Import window. The progress in importing is measured by * for each reference imported. RefWorks will notify you when the import is complete. View the Imported References.
  8. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.

Converting from ProCite

To import records into RefWorks from ProCite it is necessary to obtain an output filter from ISI ResearchSoft Technical Support. This filter, RIS.pos, will be used to export your data in the RIS format. After obtaining the filter, place it in ProCite's Styles folder. This folder's default location is C:/Program Files/Procite5/Styles.

*Note: When importing large amounts of references, it is recommended to import no more than 2500 records (or 3MB of files) at a single time. This will ensure a successful import.

  1. From within ProCite select Print Bibliography from the File menu
  2. Select the RIS output style (be sure to configure the RIS output to include all desired fields).
  3. Select Save, and Text Only as your file type
  4. Give the file a name and select a location
  5. Go into RefWorks and from the References menu select Import
  6. Select Desktop Biblio. Mgt. Software as your Import Filter
  7. Select ProCite (RIS Format) as your Database
  8. Browse for and select the file you just created from ProCite
  9. Click on Import at the bottom of the Import window. The progress in importing is measured by * for each reference imported. RefWorks will notify you when the import is complete. View the Imported References.
  10. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.

Converting from Biblioscape

On the export window in Biblioscape, give the path and file name to export.

  1. Click the Tagged tab and select RIS -- Reference Manager
  2. Click on the Start button to export.
  3. Go into RefWorks and from the References menu select Import.
  4. Select Desktop Biblio. Mgt. Software as your Import Filter and Reference Manager as your Database. Browse for and select the file you just created from Biblioscape.
  5. Click on Import at the bottom of the Import window. The progress in importing is measured by * for each reference imported. RefWorks will notify you when the import is complete. View the Imported References.
  6. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.

Converting from Citation

  1. Open your Citation datafile, and choose Generate, Bibliography.
  2. Change the publishing style radio button to Custom, and enter the name of the custom format file to use as RIS.CF. Note: you may have to search in your Citation program file to find this custom format.
  3. Change the Write Bibliography to setting to File, and enter a name for the text file to store your records.
  4. Go into RefWorks and from the References menu select Import.
  5. Select RIS Format as your Import Filter
  6. Select Reference Manager as your Database
  7. Browse for and select the file you just created from Citation
  8. Click on Import at the bottom of the Import window. The progress in importing is measured by * for each reference imported. RefWorks will notify you when the import is complete. View the Imported References.
  9. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.

 

Converting from Papyrus

To import records into RefWorks from Papyrus it is necessary to download the RISOUT.FLB format library file from the Research Software Design website. This file, RISOUT.FLB, will be used to export your data in the RIS format. Put the RISOUT.FLB file into your PAPYRUS program directory. Usually this directory is C:\PAP. (Note: some browsers will change the file name to RISOUT.EXE while downloading. If this happens to you, change the name back to RISOUT.FLB before trying to use the file.)

*Note: When importing large amounts of references, it is recommended to import no more than 2500 records (or 3MB of files) at a single time. This will ensure a successful import.

  1. From within Papyrus, go to the Formats option and choose liBrary
  2. Indicate that you wish to open the RISOUT.FLB format library
  3. At the next menu, choose Copy
  4. When asked which format to copy, enter RIS OUT. This will teach your Papyrus database the RIS OUT format.
  5. Return to the main Reference Option screen
  6. Use the List option to specify a Numeric list of all your references.
  7. When asked which output format to use, specify RIS OUT.
  8. Send the results to a File, in ASCII format, and give the file a name and select a location to save it to.
  9. Locate your saved file and open in in Wordpad or Notepad to check all data before importing. Papyrus adds some abbreviations which you may not want in RefWorks. Clean up any data and save your file.
  10. Go into RefWorks and from the References menu select Import
  11. Select RIS Format as your Import Filter
  12. Select Reference Manager as your Database
  13. Browse for and select the file you just created from Papyrus
  14. Click on Import at the bottom of the Import window. The progress in importing is measured by * for each reference imported. RefWorks will notify you when the import is complete. View the Imported References.
  15. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.