Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Asian Studies: Getting Started

This guide will introduce Asian Studies resources available to Pepperdine University students.

Dictionaries

Biographical dictionary of Japanese history, edited by Seiichi Iwao, translated by Burton Watson.  Tokyo, International Society for Educational Information, 1982.
Ref DS834 B56 1982

Historical dictionary of Taiwan, by John F. Copper. Metuchen.  N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1993.
Ref DS798.96 C67 1993

Japanese-English dictionary = [Kiso Nihongo gakush ujiten], the Japan Foundation. Oxford, New York, Oxford University Press, 2004.
Ref PL679 B37 2004

A New English-Chinese dictionary, edited by Zheng Yi Li.  Beijing, The Commercial Press, 1984. (2nd revised ed.)
Ref PL1455 N49 1984

The Oxford-Duden pictorial Chinese & English dictionary.  Hong Kong ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1989.
Ref PL1423 O94 1989

Encyclopedias

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China, edited by Brian Hook. Cambridge [England], New York, Cambridge University Press, 1991.
Ref DS705 C35 1991

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Japan, edited by Richard Bowring, Peter Kornicki.  New York, Cambridge University Press, 1993.
Ref DS805 C36 1993

Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy, edited by Brian Carr.  New York, Routledge, 1997.
Oversize B121 C66 1997

Eastern definitions: a short encyclopedia of religions of the Orient, edited by Edward Rice. Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1978.
Ref BL31 R52

Encyclopedia of Asian history, prepared under the auspices of the Asia Society; edited by Ainslie T. Embree.  New York, Scribner ; London, Collier Macmillan, c1988.
Ref DS31 E53 1988

Encyclopedia of world cultures, edited by David Levinson. Boston, Mass. G.K. Hall,1991-<1993 >
Ref GN307 E53 1991  (Also available online via Gale Virtual Reference Library database)

Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century, Wolfgang Bernard Fleischman, general editor, New York, F. Ungar Pub. Co., 1967-75.
PN774 L433

Japan: an illustrated encyclopedia. Tokyo, Kodansha, 1993. (1st edition)
Ref DS805 J263 1993

Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan. Tokyo, New York, Kodansha, 1983. (1st edition)
Ref DS805 K633 1983

Modern China : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalism, edited by Wang Ke-Wen.  New York, Garland Pub., 1998.
Ref DS705 M63 1998

Modern Japan: an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalism, edited by James L. Huffman.  New York,
Garland Pub., 1998.
Ref DS805 M63 1998

A Pictorial encyclopedia of the oriental arts, edited by Kadokawa Shoten.  New York, Crown Publishers, 1969-
N7262 P5

Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations, edited by Timothy L. Gall.  Detroit, Gale, c1998. (9th edition) (also available online via Gale Virtual Reference Library database)
Ref G63 W67 1998

Reference Books

Handbooks

Culture and customs of Japan by Noriko Kamachi. Westport, Conn., Greenwook Press, 1999
DS821 .K2357 1999

The Facts on File Asian political almanac, compiled by Chris Cook.  New York, Facts on File, 1994.
Ref DS35.2 C69 1994

A handbook of Korea.  Seoul, Korea, Korean Overseas Information Services, 1993.
Ref DS902 H2864 1993

Information China : the comprehensive and authoritative reference source of new China / China Social Sciences Publishing House; edited for Pergamon Press by C.V. James.
DS706 .I5 1989

Japan, a country study, edited by Ronald E. Dolan and Robert L. Worden, Federal Research Division, Library of Congress.  Washington, D. C., Headquarters, Dept. of the Army, 1991. (5th ed.)
DS806 J223 1991

The Pacific Rim almanac, edited by Alexander Besher.  New York, Harper Perennial, 1991.
Ref HF4030.7 Z6 B47 1991

Post-Mao China : from totalitarianism to authoritarianism? By Sujian Gao. Westport, Conn., Praeger, c2000.
JQ1510 .G85 2000

World almanac & book of facts.  New York, Newspaper Enterprise Association [etc.]  18uu-9999
Ref AY67 N5 W7 (also available online via LexisNexis or Academic Search Complete )