Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Theater Arts: Other Resources

A guide with resources on drama, the performing arts, and theater.

General Web Resources on Your Topic

Indexing Sites

Back Stage.com

From the publisher of Back Stage East and Back Stage West, this online resource provides casting notices each week for every type of performance (film, stage, TV, commercials, multimedia, dance, voiceovers, singing, etc.) in New York City, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Boston, Miami, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Denver, Seattle, and more. In addition, Back Stage.com news and reviews, community blogs and message boards, products and services, and career advice.

intute: best of the web: Theatre and Drama

Search or browse the database of Theatre and Drama resources which have been selected, evaluated and described by subject specialists. Our target audience is lecturers, researchers and students within UK higher and further education.

Ken Mc Coy's Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies

A guide to "those sites that do offer comprehensive listings, that offer something unique or interesting, that are somewhat off the beaten path, or that serve as significant examples of well-managed and productive sites"

Yahoo: Theater Page

Government Sites

National Endowment for the Arts

General interest articles, news and features on artists, innovative programs in the arts, the Endowment and other funding resources, models, information and ideas.

The New Deal Stage : Selections From the Federal Theatre Project 1935-1939

"This online presentation includes over 3,000 images of items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period. The Federal Theatre Project was one of five arts-related projects established during the first term of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt under the Works Progress Administration (WPA). In coming months, additional documents from the collection will be added to this online presentation."

The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

"The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts houses the world's most extensive combination of circulating, reference, and rare archival collections in its field. These materials are available free of charge, along with a wide range of special programs, including exhibitions, seminars, and performances. An essential resource for everyone with an interest in the arts, the Library is known particularly for its prodigious collections of non-book materials such as historic recordings, videotapes, autograph manuscripts, correspondence

Online Resources

Archival Sites

 

The EServer: Drama Collection

"This site contains a collection of original plays and screenplays, criticism and links to other sites concerned with theatre. It publishes both classic and contemporary works"

Theatre and Drama Electronic text archives

Plays online (listed by author); complete texts in English, French, German, Greek, Italian and Spanish. Part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library

 

Individual or Specialty Sites

Dramatists Play Service (DPS) 

The DPS "represent[s] the American theatre by publishing and licensing the works of new and established playwrights." Features the DPS catalog of recently published and newly acquired plays ("The PlayFinder"), a list of award-winning plays, author bios, and industry links to various theater awards, costumes, sites, music rights, and more. Also includes a FAQ discussing licensing, copyright, and fair use. Searchable and browsable.

Samuel French, Inc.

Founded 1830, play publishers and authors' representatives. The Samuel French Off Off Broadway Short Play Festival started in 1975 and is Manhattan’s oldest continuous short play festival.  Currently Samuel French has a bookshop in Hollywood and on in Studio City.

The Costume Page: Costuming Resources Online

"A comprehensive index of costume and costuming-related links, for the benefit of those who study and/or make costumes"

Fashion Plate Collection from the University of Washington

Illustrations from the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century

The History of Costume by Braun & Schneider

Originally published as individual plates in “Munchener Bilderbogen” from 1861 to 1880, these 125 pages display 500 costume designs of historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century

Timeline of Costume History

The Costumer's Manifesto by by Tara Maginnis, Ph.D.

 

Hair Archives

Devoted to vintage hair fashion.

The History of American Theatre

A collection of links to websites dealing with American theater history, costume and stage

Medieval Drama Links 

A briefly annotated collection of links to sites featuring texts, articles, and information on costume, music, set design, and more.

Online Guide to the History of Theater

A collection of links to websites dealing with assorted aspects of the history of theater

Play Shakespeare

Collection of historical facts and statistics relating to Shakespeare. Sections include Shakespeare's Biography, Play Chronology, Play Lengths, Biggest Roles, Shakespeare's Players, Elizabethan Theatres, and Scansion Overview.

The Shubert Organization

Information ranging from current activities, to its century-long history as a theatre-owner and producer, including historical information about the various theatres.

Theatre Design & Technology

Links providing information to those interested in set design, costume design, lighting design, sound design, set construction projection design, theatre engineering, stage management, makeup design, & more; maintained by Richard Finkelstein

Timeline of the History of Theatre

Timeline of important events in the history of theatre, including brief biographical notes about significant persons

Tony Awards

The official Web site of the Tony Awards is now offering theater news for New York. Every show on Broadway has its own page which includes a synopsis, schedule, cast list and photos.

The Virtual Theater Project

The Virtual Theatre project aims to provide a multimedia environment in which users can interact with intelligent, automated actors, either in well-defined stories or in improvisational environments. Users themselves become actors by exercising high-level control over their own intelligent agents.