Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Film: Film Reviews

This guide will introduce film resources available to Pepperdine University students.

Print Indexes

Consult the relevant year(s) of one or more of the indexes listed using the headings "Motion picture reviews" for newer volumes, "Moving picture reviews" for older volumes, and "Moving picture plays, criticisms, plots, etc." for the oldest volumes.

Heinzkill, Richard
Film criticism: an index to critics' anthologies
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1975.
Payson Library (Ref. PN1995 .H4)

Salem, James M.
A guide to critical reviews
Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1967-. 6 vols.
Part 4. The screenplay. (Includes film reviews)
Payson Library (Ref. PN2266 .S34)

Art Index
v. 8 (1951-52), v. 10-44 (1955/57 - 1996/97)
Payson Library (Indexes)
Art Full-Text
1984-Present
Available online

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
1967/68-1989/90, 1992
Payson Library (Compact Shelving)

Education Index
1959-2000
Payson Library (Indexes)
Education Full-Text
1994+
Available online

Essay & General Literature Index
1900/33-1996
Payson Library (Indexes)
Available online, 1985+

Film Literature Index
1977-2004
Payson Library (Indexes)

Humanities Index
1974/75-2002/03
Payson Library (Indexes)

International Index
1907/15-1973/74
Payson Library (Indexes)

Los Angeles Times Index
1972/75-1997
Payson Library (Indexes)
Los Angeles Times and Los Angeles Times (Historic)Available online, 1881+

New York Times Index
Payson Library (Indexes) 1851-1906, 1911-1999
New York Times (Historic)
Available online, 1851-2004

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature
1890/99+
Payson Library (Indexes)
Readers Guide Retrospective
Available online, 1890-1982

Social Sciences & Humanities Index
1966/67-1973/74
Payson Library (Indexes)

Finding Reviews

Establishing the date when the film was released or copyrighted will save time in further searching. This date can be found by consulting one of the following sources:

Film Indexes Online
Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International and AFI (American Film Index) Catalog together in one site where they can be searched simultaneously or independently.

International Motion Picture Almanac
New York: Quigley Publishing Co., 1945/46-
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1993.3 .I55)

Leonard Maltin's Movie and Video Guide
New York, N.Y.: Signet
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1993 .L46)

The Internet Movie Database
(http://us.imdb.com/)
Performs searches on particular film categories, i.e., titles, directors, actors, etc. It provides brief summaries of some films and allows visitors to rank films on a scale of 1 to 10.

Metacritic.com Film
(http://www.metacritic.com/film/)
The site assembles about thirty reviews per movie from publications around the U.S., with links to the full reviews. "We try to include every new release, including limited releases and films that appear at film festivals and are reviewed in at least 3 publications." The About Us page explains how scores for the movies are calculated. The awards section lists last year's nominated and award-winning films chosen by "numerous professional, critics, and press organizations." Searchable.

Movie Review Query Engine
(http://www.mrqe.com/)
A central gateway to many of the movie reviews available on the World Wide Web. Entries in the database are reviews that have been posted in the past to rec.arts.movies.reviews or appear on the WWW servers of a variety of media outlets and other sources.

Rotten Tomatoes
(http://www.rottentomatoes.com/)
Database of over 87,000 titles and 200,000 review links to the critical reaction on movies from the nation's top print and online film critics.

TV Link Film and Video Website Archive
(http://www.timelapse.com/tvlink.html)
Links to many television and film WWW sites

Reference Review Collections

Klepper, Robert K.
Silent films, 1877-1996 : a critical guide to 646 movies.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1999.
Arranged by year of release and then alphabetically by title.
Payson Library (Ref PN1995.75 .K57 1999

Magill's cinema annual
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1982-to date.
Each issue covers films released the previous year as well as some films of the past.
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1993.3 .M34)

Magill's survey of cinema--English language films, first series edited by Frank N. Magill; associate editors, Patricia King Hanson, Stephen L. Hanson.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1980. 4 vols.
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1993.45 .M3)

Magill's survey of cinema--English language films, second series edited by Frank N. Magill ; associate editors, Stephen L. Hanson, Patricia King Hanson. Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Salem Press, 1981. 6 vols.
Includes cumulative indexes for the 1st and 2nd series; together the two series cover over 1200 films.
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1993.45 .M32)

Magill's survey of cinema, foreign language films edited by Frank N. Magill
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1985. 8 vols.
Covers 700 films originating in a language other than English.
Payson Library (Ref. PN 1993.45 .M34 1985)

Magill's survey of cinema--silent films edited by Frank N. Magill; associate editors, Patricia King Hanson, Stephen L. Hanson.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1982. 3 vols.
Covers silents from the 1902 film by the Lumiere brothers to Chaplin's Modern Times (1936)
Payson Library (Ref. PN1995.75 .M33 1982)

Variety film reviews, 1907-1980
New York: Garland Pub., 1983-1985. 16 vols.
Over 40,000 film reviews published by Variety from Jan. 19, 1907 to Dec. 31, 1980.
(**Note: Variety is available via electronic resources for the period beginning 7/19/93; please consult the Library Catalog for coverage)
Payson Library (Ref. PN1995 .V34 1983)