Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Finding Newspapers: Historical Newspaper Research

About This Page

The sources on this page provide access to historical editions of U.S. and international newspapers valuable for research. Available papers range from the 17th to the 20th century. There is some overlap with sources in Contemporary Newspapers.

Information about the extensive historical newspapers collections at the Los Angeles Public Library are on the next page of this guide.

Historical Malibu Papers

Malibu Historical Collection

The Pepperdine University Libraries have established the Malibu Historical Collection as a repository for documents related to the history of the City of Malibu and its residents. The goals of this collection are to collect, preserve, catalogue, and exhibit materials related to the history of this region, thus making them accessible to a global audience.

Current collection includes:

  • Malibu Times newspaper (1946-present)
  • Malibu Surfside News newspaper (1973-present)

The Graphic

Copies of the paper from its inception are available through Special Collections and University Archives. The run begins 1920

Pepperdine University Special Collections and University Archives is generally open Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, whenever Payson Library is open. Advanced notice of your visit is recommended in order to ensure availability of materials and staff assistance.

The department is located in Room 326 on the second floor of Payson Library on Pepperdine’s Malibu campus. Please contact Melissa Nykanen at (310) 506-4434 or to schedule an appointment or for any questions.

Special Collections and University Archives are open to all users who fill out a registration form and present a form of photo identification, subject to the following rules.

Identify a U.S. Newspaper from a Place and Time

The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify what newspapers were available in a particular place and time for U.S. newspapers.  Click on this link to search the Newspaper Directory.

Historical Newspapers Online