Guides: Business: EMBA/PKE: Industry Research

Market Research

Mintel
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database)
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer)
Includes daily market and media research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics.

IBISWorld
In-depth research reports containing key statistics, industry conditions, market characteristics, industry performance, external market drivers, key success factors, and 5-year revenue forecasts for each US industry.

Ratios

Mergent Online
Business and financial information for U.S. and international companies. SEC filings (real-time and archived to 1993) for NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchange companies. Select private company reports available.

Statistical Data/Demographics

Statista
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .
SRDS Media Solutions
Access to accurate, up-to-date media information including detailed ad rates, dates and contact data plus demographic information, plus Claritas 360 platform.
Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database)
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Mintel
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Census Bureau
Great resource for demographic information.

Locating Industry Classification Codes

Industry Profiles

Business Source Complete
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.
Statista
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and provides hundreds of industry reports and dossiers, market forecasts and infographics. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey for 28 countries.
S & P NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
Access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives.
Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database)
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Mergent Online
Business and financial information for U.S. and international companies. SEC filings (real-time and archived to 1993) for NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchange companies. Select private company reports available.

Articles

It's best to start your industry research with industry profiles and market research reports, but articles will provide additional information that will be helpful. In addition, articles are especially crucial if there aren't any industry profiles or market research reports for your industry.

Business Source Complete
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.
Nexis Uni
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.