OverDrive at Pepperdine

OverDrive Downloadable Books

Pepperdine Library's OverDrive Collection (http://pepperdine.overdrive.com) is a growing collection of ebooks that launched in April 2020. Curated content with thematically organized bookshelves gives our current students, faculty, and staff the ability to virtually browse for something to read.  The site contains titles that faculty have requested to support student coursework along with classic works that are in the public domain. All of our OverDrive titles are also searchable in our library catalog. Enjoy titles immediately online, download them for offline use, or send borrowed ebooks to a specific device. Titles in this collection may be downloaded to laptops, PCs, iPads, Android devices, Kindles, Nooks, and smartphones through a web browser or through the Libby app. Please note that not all formats are available for all titles.

How does it work?

A Pepperdine username and password is required to use the database both on- and off-campus. In addition, depending on your desired format and device, you may need to download additional software. Browse by category, or search the database by keyword, title, author/creator, subject, and more. Then, follow the download instructions provided on the title’s information page.

What's the borrowing period? How many titles can I check out at a time?

The default lending period for most downloadable books is 7 days. Two titles can be checked out at a time. Titles will automatically expire at the end of the lending period. There are no late fees!​

How can I get help?

Visit the OverDrive Getting Started page or chat with us on our Ask a Librarian page or send technical questions directly to our Pepperdine systems librarian Grace Ye. Grace has provided step-by-step instructions to get Libby on your PC. 

How can I read more eBooks?

Pepperdine Libraries provides our current students, faculty, and staff with thousands of ebook titles through several library databases. To find out more about our various ebook collections, visit our eBooks InfoGuide.

OverDrive beyond Pepperdine

In addition to using Pepperdine's OverDrive offerings, you can sign up for a Los Angeles County Library Card (instructions) to take advantage of their OverDrive collection. California State residents may also apply for a Los Angeles Public Library Card (instructions) for access to LAPL OverDrive content. Library cards are available for free to permanent and temporary residents of California.